RIAA in bed with ISPs

2 01 2009

This is my off-the-cuff reaction to a new story I read about the RIAA’s next move. The RIAA (Recording Industry Association of America) launched a highly publicized wave of legal threats and lawsuits against members of the public suspected of copyright infringement. This campaign ended poorly for the RIAA. Most people settled. One trial resulted but the judge set aside the decision against the defendant.

I read recently that the RIAA is going to stop focusing its lawsuits against individuals and instead work with ISPs (Internet Service Providers) to stop this kind of traffic in the first place. I have a problem with that. I do not want them inspecting my packets. In addition, we are entitled to the presumption of innocence. Inspecting my packets (if that is how they choose to proceed) is tantamount to invasion of privacy and infringing upon my right to free speech.

My ISP has a lot of control over me, right, wrong or otherwise. Should they team up with the RIAA (as they may be inclined to do) that could spell trouble. It’s all a little too 1984 for me.

I know that there are ways of circumventing this but I should not have to.

I’m going to look more into it now.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment